Tom Talks Microsoft Teams and Microsoft 365 news and opinions

Taglync

Microsofts Free StatsMan Released for Skype for Business and Lync

Update: 21/4/2016: 1.1 released:  What’s New in 1.1 Scenario views have been added for Edge Media, Fabric Health, Pool Failover and Registration scenarios. Command line PerfAgentStorageManager.exe (installed with the Listener) can now export counter data as a CSV. Many new counters have been added for SQL servers, more Windows Fabric counters, more Skype for Business usage counters, and so...

Lync iOS and Android Mobile clients will soon be upgraded to Skype for Business

Much like the Windows Mobile client in July, next month the Lync iPhone and iPad clients and Android clients will be automatically updated to the new Skype for Business clients/UI via the Apple and Google App Stores. On windows phone there was no option to defer/delay/reverse this change, I would expect the same for iOS and Android. Users are being notified of the change in the iOS client now. So...

Webinar 28th April: Skype for Business: What it Means for You, Deployment Options and Top Tips

Fresh after a really good UCExpo where I had lots of good Skype for Business questions and conversations, and before Ignite, I’m going to be presenting on a Modality Systems Skype for Business Webinar. I hope you can attend Tuesday, April 28, 2015 GMT 4pm EST 12pm PST 8am CET 5pm Registration is here: thanks Tom   Synopsis: A practical look at the key factors in building a collaborative...

MS15-034 / KB3042553 IIS Vulnerability affects Lync Servers: Get Patching Now

An Internet Information Server (IIS) vulnerability can be used to remotely crash Windows Servers. The patch was released on Tuesday (April 14th) as part of Microsoft’s Patch Tuesday. Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows 8, Windows Server 2012, Windows 8.1, and Windows Server 2012 R2 are all affected. HTTP.sys is used by any version of IIS running on one of these operating systems...

Important Changes coming to the Lync 2013 Client UI/UX in the April 2015 Client Patch

It’s an exciting time as Lync is rebranded to Skype for Business. I spend a lot of my time saying what I do is “Enterprise Skype” so I really think this naming will make sense to end users. During this branding transition some changes are coming to the Lync 2013 client that are important to understand. There are a few variations on how the changes might affect you/your users depending on if you...

Tom Talks Microsoft Teams and Microsoft 365 news and opinions