Tom Talks Microsoft Teams and Microsoft 365 Collaboration news and opinions

Automatic hiding of Microsoft Teams not visited in more than 45 Days

A month ago, I blogged about some naming convention changes in the Microsoft Teams UI, Favorite becomes Show, Remove Favorite becomes Hide, Follow and Unfollow becomes Notifications.

I think this made a lot of sense. Depending on how you use Microsoft Teams as an organisation, you can end up being a member of many teams. For example, at Modality Systems, we take a 1 team per customer approach, and since I work on strat and products across multiple customers, as well as all my project teams, I’m in a lot of teams. This is OK. Initially, I wasn’t sure about this approach or one team per customer, but it works well, with a bit of management. I have a blog post coming on the approach and practicality of it.

When you become a member of many teams, it can be overwhelming. The UI let you have “Your Teams” (previously “Favourites”) and “Hidden Teams” (previously “More”).

image

Manually clicking “Show” or “Hide” will put them in “Your Teams” (shown in the default UI) or “Hidden Teams”.

image

The challenge is most people don’t want to do “management” of their teams, enter automatic hiding of inactive teams.

Now, Microsoft Teams is going to Teams you haven’t visited in more than 45 days will be automatically moved to the bottom “Hidden teams” category. Users will see a dialog that will allow them to view the teams that were moved and choose to accept or undo the move.

This will be gradually rolling this out to all customers in early May, and the rollout will be completed worldwide by the end of June.

image

Reference:

About the author

Tom Arbuthnot

A Microsoft MVP and Microsoft Certified Master, Tom Arbuthnot is Principal Solutions Architect at Microsoft Collaboration specialists Modality Systems.

Tom stays up to date with industry developments and shares news and his opinions on his blog, Microsoft Teams Podcast and email list. He is a regular speaker at events around the world.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • I heard you talk about this feature on a podcast this morning, somewhere between Solihull and Sheffield. Sharing this blob post with colleagues was my 1st job of the day!

  • I’ve had a few of my colleagues ask how to turn this feature off – I haven’t been able to find away to do so. Do you know if this is an option?

Tom Talks Microsoft Teams and Microsoft 365 Collaboration news and opinions